The success of NRP 64 depends on a number of actors. The management of NRP 64 is ensured by a team comprising scientific experts, and delegates, representatives and observers from different bodies.

​The steering committee is responsible for the strategic management and scientific quality of the programme, starting with the selection of the research projects to the synthesis of the research results.

The Programme Manager and the President of the steering committee are responsible for the operational management of the programme.

The Head of knowledge transfer is responsible for the communication of the research results to the target audiences.

Representatives of relevant federal offices accompany the steering committee and keep the administration informed of the progress of the programme.

Division Programmes of the national research council of the SNSF is the ultimate supervisory authority for the NRP. The Delegate of the research council acts as a link between the research council and the steering committee.

Steering committee members:

  • Prof. em. Peter Gehr, Institute of Anatomy, University of Berne (President)
  • Prof. em. Ueli Aebi, M.E. Müller Institute for Structural Biology, Biozentrum, University of Basel
  • Prof. Heinrich Hofmann, Institute of Material Science, EPF Lausanne
  • Prof. Patrick Hunziker, Department of Internal Medicine, University Hospital of Basel
  • Prof. Andrew Maynard, Risk Innovation Lab, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA.
  • Prof. Wolfgang Parak, Fachbereich Physik, Philipps-Universität Marburg, D
  • Prof. Anders Baun, NanoDTU, Department of Environmental Engineering,
    Technical University of Denmark, DK
  • Prof. Vicki Stone, School of Life Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK

Delegate of division Programmes of the national research council:

  • Prof. Frank Scheffold, Département de Physique, Université de Fribourg

Representative of the federal administration:

  • Christoph Studer, PhD, Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), Berne

Programme Manager:

  • Marjory Hunt, PhD, Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), Berne

Head of knowledge transfer:

  • Mark Bächer, Life Science Communication AG, Zürich

Further information on this content